Cheering myself on

I was going to give myself a week before writing another post. It was going to be an overview of the week, with the idea that I’d commit myself to a weekly update on my activities. But honestly, I think I deserve a little ra-ra, cheering at this mid-point. And if I’m the only one here to give it to myself, well, so be it.

I’d love to say I lost X number of pounds or upped my endurance, but neither is true (and it’s been less than a week). They’re not even the goal of this blog. Because I think all of that will follow on the single point I made previously, making the decision to actually do something. Or, I suppose more accurately, not allow myself to make the decision to not do something. But that is so much more unwieldy.

And today, despite having a cold, despite PMS, despite a sore knee, despite having to take my husband to work (because it was 17° fahrenheit this morning and even he can’t cycle in that), I went to the gym. I had several reasons I could have used to not go, normally would have used to not go. Who wants to do yoga when they can’t breathe? But I didn’t let myself use any of them to not do it. That sounds so small. Hell, it is small. But it’s a huge first step for me.

Look, I even took a picture. It’s not a great one. I’m cold and squinting into the sun and I rushed it because I hate to be seen taking a selfie. But I wanted documentable proof I did it today. IMG_20170315_100343_edit_edit

This is a big deal for me. The last time I went to the gym (which I’ve been paying for all this time, by the way) was in September and I wouldn’t even say I went often then.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 2.33.21 PM

And strange things happen when you’re away for so long. The 9am yoga with P. class is usually my favorite class of the week. But you guys, it was so hard! Things that used to be easy I struggled with, and my flow, getting smoothly from one pose to the next, sucked. Because I was stiff and slow. And my right wrist is apparently never again going to like having pressure on it when laid flat on the ground, like in a plank. It’s healed, but it is what it is. That’s a serious annoyance.

Plus, when you don’t see people for a long time you kind of subconsciously expect them to be the same as when you last saw them. So, when the instructor walked in a full eight and a half months pregnant, I was a little taken aback. (8.5 months pregnant and still kicked my butt.) I didn’t even know she was preggers in the first place, which is one heck of a visual reminder how long it had been since I’d been to class!

I’ll still do a Sunday round up of the week. I did make it to Tae Kwon Do on Monday, but only because I have to take the children anyway and it’s an easy class. Plus,  I pulled out my old FitBit. So, I should have a general idea of how things went.

Here’s to cheering yourself on!

Leave a Reply

