Week one check in

In figuring out what I want to do with this journal, I decided I’d commit to at least a once a week check-in post, and Sunday seems like a good day for it. So here we are, a week in. How’d it go?

I feel like it was a successful first week. Maybe not all gung-ho, but I didn’t let myself wimp out, even when there were times I wanted to. I made it to five workout classes. Granted, none of them were high-intensity classes. But I don’t even care. I’m more concerned with going than anything else, at this point. So, two yoga classes and three tae kwon do classes satisfies me.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 2.06.40 PM

On Tuesday, I dug out my old FitBit so I could track my steps and be encouraged to get up and move about more often. Obviously, as you can see, it’s pretty useless for tracking how hard a yoga class is, but it does help me be more aware when I’ve spent the rest of the day as a sloth, which I do fairly often. All those books aren’t going to read themselves!

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 2.10.23 PM

And obviously this is something I need to work on. I mean, I’m aiming for 10,000 steps a DAY and I managed basically that in a WEEK, even though I’d decided to do better. OK, maybe there were a couple thousand on Monday. I seem to average about a thousand during a tae kwon do class, based on the two above. But still. That’s a pretty poor showing if I do say so myself.

I am looking into upgrading my FitBit to one that tracks the heart rate. OK, I’m dreaming of upgrading. Because lets be honest, I can’t afford anything new right now. But if I could, I totally would get this.

Alta HR, special addition

Wellll, I suppose I don’t need to spend an extra $30 for the gold plating (a regular one is only $149.95), but if I’m gonna fantasize I might as well go big, right? Hey, FitBit wanna send me a freebie and I’ll document my experience using it here? LOL. Man, I wish that sort of thing really happened in my life.

Anyhow, my point is that if I want a tracker that more accurately reflects my experience, I’m gonna need one that does better than say I burned 80 calories, with 81 steps (most of which were probably walking into and out of the room), when I actually did a class that had my heart pounding in my head. But until I can arrange that, I’ll stick with logging classes—I’m not disappointed with the five I did—and trying to up my number of steps each day, even if it’s just walking from the kitchen to the bedroom more often.

I think I’ll also start a food diary next week. For reasons including new food sensitivities and thousands of dollars in doctors visits, that probably deserve a whole post of their own though. But I also honestly believe what I do or don’t eat effects how I feel and how much energy I do or don’t have. So, it’s a valid subject to explore.

Week one down, I’m still feeling inspired. So, I’m going to call it a success. I admit, as always, I was guilty of doing exercise preparation related things as if that equaled actually going to the gym or for a walk. I spent a ridiculous amount of time picking out the right tracker and, of course, one really must have an updated color coded spreadsheet of available workout classes to accompany their goal. Right? Right?! I mean, everyone does this, right?

exercize

Despite the few time wasters, I’m still going with Yay me.

 

Leave a Reply

