Week 2 check-in

I’m not gonna lie, this wasn’t a stellar week for workouts or steps. I let myself backslide from the success of the last couple weeks; but I have an excuse. And yes, I know an excuse doesn’t make not accomplishing my goal suck less, but it’s a reality.

The plague has hit our house. Ok, it’s the flu, but a particularly rough one and I nursed my oldest daughter through it. Then my husband got it. He’s four days in and still feverish and miserable. Now, my youngest has come down with it.

As is so often a mother’s lot, I’m the only one not to spike a fever yet. Though I almost certainly will, just as soon as S. goes back to work and both girls are back in school, so there’s no one home to nurse me. (Ok, that was totally just a pre-emptive whine.) But the fact is that I haven’t really been able to slip away and hit a yoga class and, while I could certainly have walked more (be it around the house or around the block), I just didn’t. I won’t even try and pretend on this one. I just didn’t do it.

Calories 3.28.17Heart Rate 3.28.17Steps 3.28.17

As you can see, I never once burned my intended number of calories, my heart rate rarely rose and Monday (when I went grocery shopping) is the only day I did any notable number of steps. Workout-wise this week was a fail.

But I’m not going to let that discourage me. Not every week can be perfect. This wasn’t a good one. If I do get the flu, next week won’t be either. But I can still keep my eyes on the prize while acknowledging I let myself down here.

I might not have had a good workout week, but I did have something good happen. I got to talk to my sister, who lives across the country from me and I don’t speak to often. We spent over two hours on the phone, UNHEARD OF for us. It was wonderful to catch up. And one of the things she mentioned was that she’s been reading this little blog (Hi H.!).

I write this for myself; I’m just one of those people who does well by distilling my thoughts on paper. But knowing she’d read it and been a little inspired too, really made me feel like a superhero. So, we committed to one another to do better in the future, both in keeping contact and exercising. And I don’t want to have to tell her I didn’t go to the gym.

My second goal for this past week was to start a food journal. (As I mentioned, I’m dealing with some new food allergies and really need to cut certain foods out of my diet for a while. One day I’ll face writing a post about this.) I did really well on the journaling for a few days. I was using the FitBit food log. But I gave up on it.

I don’t like their log. It only seems to have pre-packaged and super common foods listed. I understand why, it means the information can be pulled from the internet. But part of my goal is to eat LESS pre-made food. As my doctor said to me, I want to, “Eat food that rots, and eat it before it does.” So, I found the FitBit food log not to be one that will work well for me.

In the past I’ve used the one on MyFitnessPal and I suppose I’ll start that one again. Though I’ll probably wait and start it on Monday. I like things in nice tidy weekly units.

Logged or not, I can tell you I didn’t eat well. My husband is the cook in the family. If left to my own devices I would probably live on cheap, cardboard pizza and angel food cake. No lie, I think this is the only thing in my kitchen when I lived on my own. And with S. down with the plague, I’ve been left to fend for myself.

Here is an example of how I did, I went grocery shopping and picked up potato chips and ranch dip. This is one of my weaknesses in life. Then, thinking better of it, I put it back. I made the right decision. Then, I had to swing by Walgreens for a prescription, saw the chips and dip and went ahead and bought it. I beat the temptation once, but it beat me in round two.

That might not even be so bad, if I just ate a few chips and a bit of dip. But when I give in to what my Cousin N. (who is a life coach specializing in out of control eating and has some really great advice that I try and take) calls the “food crazies,” I eat all the bad things, not some of them, but all of them. Even knowing I’ll feel like shit after, even knowing how bad it is for me, even knowing I won’t enjoy it all that much, I still do it. I still did it.

So, I can also call the goal of eating well this week a fail. Sigh. That’s my reality. But I don’t see a lot of reason to look back on it, instead of ahead to doing better today and tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

